DUI: DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE 

 

Have you or a loved one been charged with a drunk driving offense? Getting a DUI can be one of the more frightening and stressful moments of your life. If you have been accused of a DUI in Miami or South Florida, you could be facing hefty fines, jail time, counseling courses, driver’s license suspension or revocation, vehicle impoundment, or even mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. Also, if you are not a United States citizen, a DUI could lead to deportation or removal proceedings or result in your application for naturalization being denied. 

 

As you can see below, the cost of a DUI can be extremely damaging and harmful to your liberty, bank account, and future. It is imperative that you seek the help of an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately after arrest. At Jurney & De La Grana, P.A., our attorneys look at all possible defenses and formulate the best strategy for your case. Don’t hesitate to give us a call now to review your possible DUI defenses! 

 

The DUI penalties in Florida are as follows:

 

First DUI Conviction

  • Fine between $500 and $1,000.

  • Up to six months in jail; possibility of nine months in jail if your blood/breath alcohol level (BAC) is .15 or higher, or if a minor child was in the vehicle.

  • Total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1 year

  • Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional $10 fine for each hour of community service required.

  • Driver’s License revocation for six months if your BAC is .08 or higher.

  • Driver’s License revocation for one year for refusal to submit to blood, breath or urine test.

  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days (only exception is if family of the defendant has no other form of transportation).

 

Second DUI Conviction (within 5 years):

  • Fine between $1,000 and $2,000. This can increase to between $2,000 and $4,000 if your BAC is .15 or higher or if a minor child was in the in the vehicle.

  • Up to nine months in jail unless your BAC is .15 or higher or if a minor child was in the vehicle. Then you are facing up to one year in jail.

  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days (only exception is if family of the defendant has no other form of transportation)

  • Driver’s License revocation for five years. You may be eligible for a hardship license after one year. The Driver’s License revocation is for six months if the second DUI occurred outside of five years from your first offense.

 

Third DUI Conviction:

  • Fine between $1,000 and $2,000. This can increase to between $2,000 and $5,000 if the conviction is within ten years of the previous one. 

  • Up to twelve months in jail if conviction is outside of ten years. Mandatory thirty days in jail, at a minimum, if conviction is within ten years.

  • Felony DUI if within ten years of previous conviction.

  • Driver’s License revocation for ten years if conviction is within 10 years of previous conviction. You may be eligible for a hardship license after two years.

  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days if convicted within 10 years of a first offense.

 

Fourth DUI Conviction:

  • Third Degree Felony Charge

  • Up to five years in prison or more if you are enhanced as a habitual/violent offender.

  • Minimum fine of $2,000

  • Driver’s License permanently revoked with no possibility of being eligible for a hardship license.